Tag Archives: Triathlon

Tim Reed and Caroline Steffen Win in the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines

2 Aug Piolo Pascual in the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines

Australian Tim Reed and Swiss Caroline Steffen became the Male and Female Champions of the 2015 Cobra Energy Drink Ironman 70.3 Philippines. Reed beat fellow Aussie Tim Van Berkel by 2 seconds to capture his first ever Ironman 70.3 title. Caroline Steffen had an easier time despite some setbacks in the bike leg as she won her 4th Cobra Ironman Philippines title.

Tim Reed wins 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines title

Men’s Top Five Professionals:

1 Tim Reed AUS 03:46:03
2 Tim Van Berkel AUS 03:46:05
3 Brent McMahon CAN 03:50:23
4 Mitch Robins AUS 03:55:20
5 Craig Alexander AUS 03:57:11

The Men’s race has been dominated by Australians. Defending champion Brent McMahon (3rd Place) is the only non-Australian in the Top 5.  Continue reading

2012 Cobra 70.3 Ironman Philippines: Jennylyn Mercado pulls out after being duped by friend

1 Aug
Jennylyn Mercado to miss Cobra 70.3

Jennylyn will miss the country’s biggest ironman event

Cebuano fans of Kapuso actress Jennylyn Mercado will not be able to see her this Sunday on the biggest triathlon event in the country after the actress lost to P300,000.  According to an article by Gorgy Rula of pep.ph, Mercado lost the money that was supposedly going to be used for her participation in the Cobra 70.3 Ironman Philippines to be held Shangrila’s Mactan Resort and Spa. She was supposed to go to Cebu along with her family and her boyfriend Luis Manzano. Her friend who was the one in charge for the booking of tickets for travel and accommodations emailed her that there was a problem with regards to the task that her friend was supposed to take care of. Although details are still very vague, most likely there will be no Jennylyn Mercado sighting in Cebu this weekend.

The 4th edition of the Cobra 70.3 Ironman Philippines will still be  star-studded even without Jennylyn Mercado as people will be able to see many celebrities from sports, showbiz, politics, and business worlds like Senator Pia Cayetano, F1 Star Jenson ButtonFernando Zobel de Ayala, Tessa Prieto Valdes, Piolo PascualDrew Arellano, Richard Gutierrez, Matteo Giudecelli, Eric Buhain, Anthony and Maricel Pangilinan and Gilbert Remulla. Cebuanos are encouraged to cheer on the participants on Sunday August 5, 2012.

Holiday in Cebu on August 6

1 Aug
Cebu City viewed from the Taoist Temple

Cebu City viewed from the Taoist Temple (Photo credit: dbgg1979)

Cebu, Philippines – The province of Cebu will be celebrating its  443rd founding anniversary.  Republic Act 8952 declared that August 6 is a special non-working holiday in the whole island of Cebu including Cebu City.  The long weekend coincided the opening of  the 11-day 2012 One Cebu Expo at the Cebu International Convention Center on Friday, August 3.  On August 5, the much-awaited Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines will be held and the race route will include Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Cebu City, and Talisay City.  Well-wishers can expect some local and international celebrities like Jenson Button, Richard Guttierez, Jennylyn Mercado, and Jerico Rosales compete in half-ironman triathlon.

It will very eventful weekend, enjoy!!!


Vaseline Men XTERRA Off-Road Triathlon Results

19 Mar

Liloan, Cebu – Here are the winners of last Sunday’s Vaseline Men XTERRA Off-Road Triathlon.

Professional Men’s: Ben Allen (Australia) 2:30:05

Professional Women’s: Renata Bucher (Switzerland) 2:53:33

Filipino Male Elite: Neil Catiil 2:54:47

Filipino Female Elite: Rochelle Tan 4:19:10

Male Team Category: Reuben Tri Team

Female Team Category: Beacon-Five Fingers

Mixed Team Category: Metrografix-Brick

Age Group

Male 15-19: John Ronnel Uy

Male 20-24: Vicente Lorenzo Cabahug

Male 25-29: Daniel Neilson

Male 30-34: Felipe Sajulga III

Male 35-39: Charles Fortier

Male 40-44: Richard Santiago

Male 45-49: Jerome Georges

Male 50-54: Juan Jose Bonin

Male 55-59: Jose Ricardo Dizon

Male 60-64: Oscar Escudero, Jr.

Female 20-24: Jemely Dinopol

Female 25-29: Pen Nepomuceno

Female 30-34: Camilla Brooks

Female 35-39: Silvia Tiezzi

Female 40-44: Yoshimi Yasue

Female 45-49: Lynda Scott


%d bloggers like this: