Tag Archives: Caroline Steffen

Tim Reed and Caroline Steffen Win in the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines

2 Aug Piolo Pascual in the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines

Australian Tim Reed and Swiss Caroline Steffen became the Male and Female Champions of the 2015 Cobra Energy Drink Ironman 70.3 Philippines. Reed beat fellow Aussie Tim Van Berkel by 2 seconds to capture his first ever Ironman 70.3 title. Caroline Steffen had an easier time despite some setbacks in the bike leg as she won her 4th Cobra Ironman Philippines title.

Tim Reed wins 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines title

Men’s Top Five Professionals:

1 Tim Reed AUS 03:46:03
2 Tim Van Berkel AUS 03:46:05
3 Brent McMahon CAN 03:50:23
4 Mitch Robins AUS 03:55:20
5 Craig Alexander AUS 03:57:11

The Men’s race has been dominated by Australians. Defending champion Brent McMahon (3rd Place) is the only non-Australian in the Top 5.  Continue reading


Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines: Australian Pete Jacobs wins again!

6 Aug Pete Jacobs wins Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines

For the 3rd time in a row, Australian Pete Jacobs won his third straight Cobra Energy Drink Ironman 70.3 Philippines race. He finished the 70.3-mile half-Ironman race in 4:07:38.  He was 1:23 ahead of New Zealand’s Cameron Brown. Jacobs breezed through the 1.9 km swim league as he took a 50 second lead from Philippine-based Canadian Mathieu O’Halloran and 71 second lead over Brown. Brown was able to catch up in the bike leg where the competitors travel from Mactan to Talisay City passing by Mandaue City and Cebu City.  Brown had a blistering 40.23 km/h pace to emerge with a  one second lead going to the final discipline, the 21 km run. Jacobs, however, outran Brown by pulling away in the last 5 kilometers.

Finishing 3rd and 4th over-all were two Aussies who are competing in their respective age groups. 37 year old Assad Atamimi finished 3rd with a time of 4:17:47 (10:09 behind). He won the 35-39 age group. 40 year old Thomas J. Vonach got the 4th best time this year with a time of 4:19:28.  Vonach outlasted O’Halloran by finishing just a mere 4 seconds from the Canadian who ended up with the 5th best time and became the 3rd-placer in the men’s pro division. Caroline Steffen of Switzerland had the 6th best time at 4:20:48 en route in becoming this year’s champion in the women’s pro category.  Rounding up the top ten were UK’s Paul Ryman (30-34 winner), HK’s Erich Felbabel, USA’s Bree Wee (2nd, Women’s Pro), and Filipino August Benedicto (Best Filipino finisher).

Here are Top 10 Finishers and their times:

Name Country Swim Bike Run Finish Div. Rank Overall Rank
JACOBS, PETE AUS 00:21:26 02:15:34 01:27:55 04:07:38 1 1
BROWN, CAMERON NZL 00:22:37 02:14:14 01:29:18 04:09:01 2 2
ATTAMIMI, ASSAD AUS 00:27:15 02:22:47 01:24:52 04:17:47 1 3
VONACH, THOMAS J. AUS 00:24:59 02:21:23 01:29:36 04:19:28 1 4
O’HALLORAN, MATHIEU CAN 00:22:16 02:19:59 01:34:38 04:19:32 3 5
STEFFEN, CAROLINE SWI 00:24:03 02:20:43 01:32:49 04:20:48 1 6
RYMAN, PAUL UK 00:24:12 02:20:27 01:34:02 04:21:51 1 7
FELBABEL, ERICH HKG 00:25:09 02:19:28 01:39:53 04:27:24 4 8
WEE, BREE USA 00:24:04 02:23:41 01:36:31 04:27:24 2 9
BENEDICTO, AUGUST PHL 00:31:31 02:22:15 01:31:08 04:27:39 5 10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

%d bloggers like this: